Wakeboarding in Camsur Watersport Complex

20140419_162200

Camsur Watersports Complex (CWC) is a world-class 6-hectare watersports park located in Cadlan, Pili, Camarines Sur.

A quick side trip when we were in Bicol last holy week, we spent enough hours in Camsur Watersports Complex, just to try the surface water sport, wakeboarding.

Wakeboarding was created from a combination of water skiing, snow boarding and surfing techniques. Instead of using skis, the rider rides a single board. It is one of the world’s fastest growing sports and is gradually being recognized globally, and has become a lifestyle for others.

This is one of the most memorable experiences happened in our Bicol getaway. Mixed emotion of excitement and nervous, aside that it’s my first time, I’m not a good swimmer, and terribly, I didn’t know how to swim. I’m not even comfortable with my life vest. I suspiciously thought that it’s not gonna save my life.(Haha!)

3

We oriented by a staff on what are the proper postures and some important “dos and don’ts” reminder. For a beginner, they usually recommend to try the kneeboarding first, and we do. In kneeboarding, the rider must bend his knees on the board, and secures himself to the deck with adjustable strap. He hangs and will be pulled by a tow-rope. The cables run counter clockwise around the lake with a speed between 20 – 65 km/h. The feeling in the line waiting for your turn is just like waiting in Space Shuttle ride, you didn’t know what exactly how it feels. Minutes passed and here it comes… BLAST!

My ride is literally depends on my hands. Should I stop and release my hands or should I stay and hold on tight? (Well, same definition of life and moving on. Haha!) It was fast and thrilling yet so fun and amusing.  Fortunately, luckily(whatever it is), even I once scared, I finished one lap or should I say “loop” in the lake, with my great secret motivation. LOL.

Sadly, we’re all in the line waiting for our turn so we don’t have any picture for the actual ride.

Mark Espinosa, Rlph Lvn Vldz, Charmie Rose, Jhed Sin Chio Co, Amiel Rafael Cosme, Jerwin Madrid

with my travel buddies after wakeboarding experience

Some of my companions try again the ride. We expend PhP165.000(1 hour) with rental of vest and helmet + PhP 500.00 deposit(refundable upon return of gear). For other rates of all the activities and services, click here.

20140419_152004

CWC has become a popular cable park not only to local, but foreign tourists and celebrities as well. It was once acclaimed in an Australian magazine as the best wakeboarding facility in the world. It offers a 6-point cable ski system, restaurants, sand bars, spas, pro-shops and grand stands to hold guests. Riders can also enjoy their favorite water sports at night as the park will be equipped with spotlights that allow for it even to be open on evenings. Indeed, it’s one of the best places to unwind this summer.

2

20140419_154818

One of the perfect places to spend summer getaway with family or friends.

 

2 thoughts on “Wakeboarding in Camsur Watersport Complex

  1. Pingback: Road to Mayon Volcano | Clarenze Nixon

Leave a Reply

